Happy New Year everyone ( grandad and grandma thankyou for your email)
I have been busy today celebrating 2010 with the family.
Last night I was up until 4 in the morning, firstly to wait for New Years, secondly to go visit the local shrine and temple so my family could pray( they are Buddhist ) and lastly to make the feast to be had at lunch time.We also ate cup ramen as a midnight snack,it's a tradition I think . I went classy and had cup yaki udon *giggle*
This morning when I woke up at 12 after my late night, I had a shower and instead of breakfast I had the prepared feast of various traditional foods. Things like lenkon and purple potato ( there is a photo of this on my flickr account, my name is "puffcake" I do believe). Also ate motchi, Japanese rice cake.Received "nengajyou" from Misaki (my best friend at school) saying she was glad to be my friend and hopes we will still be friends this year. It's traditional to send these cards to anyone who you have been a burden too or who has really helped you in the past year, to let them know you appreciate them very much.
Was invited to join in the new years prayer at the in house shrine, so I did so for the experience. It was actually a rather pleasant feeling to know that this family would include me in the family blessing. Appart from the religion the consideration was an honour. It's also good I could be included in that without joining the religeon, I think that says something for Buddhism.
Spent the new years doing not much, mostly relaxing and chatting to people. 2010 has started out a good year so far for me and I hope it gets better even though my impending return to down under draws near.
Dinner was at grandmas house with all of mums family including her 3 sisters and their children. Dinner was tasty although I met a boy the same age as me,so I squeamishly did my little introduction thing I am so good at now to an almost non existent reply ( why do I even bother talking to the male of the specie, especially those my age)
Retired to my room early tonight, swapping party for sleep as I am so good at doing. But now I find myself wondering, as "home time" comes near, if I have really changed at all over my time in Japan.Please send me mail if you wish, or comment. But I really beleive I haven't changed that much. What do you think?
Again I wish you all a Happy New Year and hope it's a good year :)
Friday, January 1, 2010
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
I love you :)
ReplyDelete