Monday, August 31, 2009

しけん

picked up my papers for the JLPT. going for lvl 3.
having some trouble filling them out in japanese, i shall get the teachers help tomorrow.

back to school tomorrow. back to lessons with sensei shall be good.Looking forward to seeking my friends again.

brought some manga today.Clover,Venus VS Virus,しろひめ (white princess,japanese tale).reading about a manga book a day, in japanese.
stil cant do it without furigana ( hiragana (can read) next to the tough kanji(sometimes cant read).

Friday, August 21, 2009

きょうと

Went to Kyoto yesterday
it was awesome!!

電車
Train trip was 3 hours, would have taken about 45 minutes by Nozomi (^.^) but we were doing Kyoto on a budget after what it cost for tickets. Here is where i got money from, my host mother payed for my 20¥ ($25) train ticket.

金閣寺
Went to the Gold Castle, which is three golden tears of pavilion loveliness. Included a linky for you all to explain,since you all liked the last one so much.The nature around the castle was nice to see, and i brought a souvenir.

らめん
Had ramen for lunch, which was tasty, but we had to eat it quickly or we would be late for the Kabuki. You mustn't be late for the Kabuki.

かぶき
The consisted of three performances by Bando Tamasaburo, each of different women characterised from famous Japanese tales. For each woman she(he)* wore one,sometimes two beautiful kimonos, and during the performance (kani-sama,the crabman as we call him) would come out and help her change right in the middle of the stage. very clever.
My favorite character was the first one, white and innocent, nothing on stage but her and a candle on a long stand. This simplistic but extremely detailed performance told of how she was waiting for someone.She often hid behind her umbrella and her sleeves, at one point allowing her feet to stray in little movements outside the kimono, but always returning them.
these are two of Tamasaburo's performances.
Sagi Musume
Wisteria Maiden
Tamasaburo is usually not seen by any other than the very wealthy, unlike Ebiso who i saw last time.His dance is considered a "gift from god" as when he was young Tamasaburo had a form of polio that left his legs slightly different lengths.

買い物
Next we had planned to see more castles, but instead settled with looking at shops.I brought a gift for Michelle that i think she will like. :) We went to Kyoto's Takashimaya, which is incidentally a similar shop to Myer at home. I brought some sakana mochi.(fish shaped mochi) and was declined a photo of a cute lady working at one of the japanese sweets counters. :( her outfit was so cute.! Mum brought a large amount of anko* filled sweets.

あとむ
We had planned to go to the Osamu Tezuka exhibition as Kyoto is the place where the world famous Astro Boy, or in Japan, Tetsuwan Atomu was created, however we didn't have enough time and arrived just in time to peer through the windows and visit the gift shop. I brought a little Kimba the White Lion to attach to my camera. :)

帰る
Returning home was strange as i had to stand half the time, on the way to Kyoto Remi and Mum had found a seat and i had stood the whole way leaned against a nice little corner and listening to music. was nice to sit.

晩御飯
Got home and dinner was ebi gratan( a bit like macaroni cheese with prawns ) and takoyaki. oishiiiii! (yummyyy!) then i ate some of the anko sweets and one of my two sakana mochi. :)


*I have a habit of calling people as they wish to look,Kabuki is played by all males.
* anko : a bean, sometimes red, sometimes white, that is crushed finely and put into sweets.

今日
Today i cleaned my room, hung the washing out and studied. Going to get some lunch happening soon i do hope, thought my host mother has gone to work.

みな everone (shoutout)
*Michelle is at Manifest ,hope that went well by the way.
*Mum i hope your well and not to stressed. Thankyou for the phone call the other day.
*Mainge hope school is going well and that your assignment is finished and is marked highly.
*Dad i hope the mines are treating you well, and that you receive your card sometime.
*Grandma, thanks for helping Mainge with her project, hope the house minding is well, and prepare for cosplay when i get home :P.
*Auntie Jo and the boys, hope your all well, Cam i still want to see your pimped snail.
*Grandma and Grandad, hope the temperature is fine down there, we are coming out of summer here, that means your about to go into it.Please say hello to all the frogs and lizards and i hope to get up there when i get home.
*Justin, hope you got your Inuyasha cosplay fixed, i would be happy to help.
*Milo i love you, hope your enjoying my room and using my things, remember to wash my toothbrush well and go easy on my icecream.
*JJ...you know what you are.
*anyone i missed in this shoutout, hope your well and i am sorry i missed you. Let me know and i will include you in my next blog.

Belinda

p.s JJ is a bitch.

Thursday, August 20, 2009

100¥

Off to Kyoto tomorrow with $1.20 in spending money and food buying.
Underestimated the price of the Kabuki tickets,they were $27 more than i thought they would be.Sorry mum and dad, i have spent to much this month already,so i wont withdraw anything more out. But no souvenirs or special sweets.
Still craving a motchi (added the t, so you can all pronounce it right) fish, but they are $2.50...might buy a new manga book with my money for the trip. Manga here are $1.05!!!

Tuesday, August 18, 2009

戻る!

That's right, i returned to school this week after my whole 2 weeks of holidays.!!!
学校
Again school is back to being only 3 hours a day but it would be so much better for me to stay at home and study then to wake up ridiculously early to catch a train then move about unsettled for the 3 hours. Then again its nice to chat to my friends again.
家族
Host family are well but i may be changing host family again after only 2 months. Don't like that idea but if the reasons are good i guess i will have to. For the moment i am safe here for a while and as i said, its a great place to be.Trying to lose a little weight, wonder how long that will last *giggle*
勉強
Study is still...well i am almost half way through the exchange and still i cant speak Japanese at all, i still struggle on using the same basic words i learnt from he start. It WAS frustrating, but now its just daily life. getting use to being practically mute i guess. Brought a kanji learning book that has the pictures, i think it will be good.

Manga stocks in my room are getting low,but i under guessed the cost of Kyoto and my class special shirt so i am broke until next week at least, choosing to be so instead of draw out more and more moneys. :( i feel bad, my withdrawal record for this month is terrible because of the theme park AND Kyoto. :(

We finished the watermelon so i brought some timtams :) found a Byron Bay cookie comapany cookie yesterday. at it and almost cryed. it was sweet and wonderful.

craving an anko sakana.

Sunday, August 9, 2009

Tryed to put some photos or something on here, but this internet has troubles with uploading anything to the net. sorry guys. hopefully i will get to a net kiosk sometime and load everything to flickr. (thankyou to Michelle who brought me a pro account)

News is that i went to Nagashima Spaland (japanese link) (wikipedia link) with some school friends. which is a waterpark and a theme park. I only went to the themepark, but i spent all day there and it was awesome.Went on just about all the rides including the Steel Dragon, its really really high, really really fast and really really long. o.o (please click the linkies)

Yesterday we had sashimi for dinner and octopus for lunch. Remi's grandfather is a fish seller and so we were sent a big box of seafood to enjoy. Got scratched by a stray cat and then steralized the area with the stuff mummy gave me.iodine is good.

Been studying, but still cant speak japanese. tis not good.On proper holidays now where i dont have to go to school atall. yay!

hope your all well in Australia and other countrys.
Belinda

Monday, August 3, 2009

世界 の アニメ

2 big days, 1 big festival

Saturday
Today i went to the anime parade in Osu Kannon.

Woke up at 8, which is a sleep in here. Went to the train station to meet with Michelle, she was late and i did get a bit worried.After my anime companion arrived we went to get breakfast and met a friend from school. It started raining muchly as we were leaving breakfast.I skipped around singing "raindrops are falling on my head" and apparently those around me enjoyed it. :)

Went to an apple store and had my iPod reserected, this was the second time it had stopped and the lady put it down to the battery being so low that it would not function.Must keep it charged from now on.

Trying to find where the anime parade was going to be held was very annoying, with my one umbrella, that Michelle had most of the time due to her choise to wear a thin white shirt >>. and a map that got destroyed as i had to use it as my umbrella, we didnt really have a clue. Stopping at a conveniance store we collected ourselves along with the remaining peices of the map. We only made it to the anime parade by following a cosplayer. (thankyou cosplay girl!)

The parade started from a temple, and ran down streets of indoor shopping, so even with the rain it was possable.Before the parade Michelle and i perused the shops and i found some evenglion hats that i wanted. :P but i did not buy them at that time.

There were many cosplays from many anime in the parade. http://http//www.flickr.com/photos/22013977@N06/
see above from images.
personally i liked the twin pichu, dark magician girl and the evenglion.

After the parade was the preveiw of the world finalists. I recognised Tsubaki and Katty Patra from events in Aus, and we also caught up with Widget ( Michelle's friend) and two other people from Australia who were there as part of the crew.

In the evening i brought the hats i wanted and we had dinner. I had Katsu Curry but it was no where near as good as the one from Rakuu.We went to Michelles hotel and sat down in the main lounge which was rather small. We were just about to go get icecream when the two other Australias turned up...with icecream. yay! so we ate and chatted before i went home.

Before Michelle and i went to the hotel we went to TVAichi and tryed to score some tickets for Sundays summit. I shall now tell you all about the tickets...i warn, this next paragraph is one big vent session.

(TICK(me off)ETS
Alright, from the beginning it was impossable to buy them from outside the country.The site said there were none, but really you received one if you baught a shirt(found out about this on sunday morning)they never actaully told you that you were buying a ticket.the other way to buy one was by mobile,japanese mobile of corse.one that you needed rededancy to obtain.>.<(found out about that one while waiting in line on Sunday).Only chance to obtain one if your from overseas,it to be early in line.However this rule was changed about an hour before the even started,no tickets were to be offered.)

Sunday

Caught the first train, that is 5:29. Michelle did the same from where she was staying.I arrived about six to Oasis 21, and waited in line with Michelle for the gates to open.They opened at 7 and the whole 5 people waiting flooded into the half inside half outside building.Organisers came shortly after, reasserting the barriers and dividing them into"those with tickets" and "those without". Michelle, myself and a Mexican who could speak Japanese very well, waited in the later while a bunch of young Japanese cosplay girls waited in the tickets line.We watched the contestants practice before the masses turned up. I got to chat briefly to Tsubaki and Katty as they were on their way to practice their skit.

Told we may receive tickets at 3, when the event started, if people from inside the seated area canceled, we waited, leaving one at a time to fetch food and go to the toilet.We met with Rei, Chinese lady who lived in America for a long time, and was now working in japan as a teacher with what she believes to be limited Japanese.She is nice and added to our party,making 4 ticket less foreigners.lol.

Sunday there were almost as many cosplayers as normal people, often i went with walks with Rei to take photos of them. :)

I brought a WCS towel and at 3 when we were fairly sure we would not get tickets i went and brought 3 chairs for Michelle, Rei and i, only to realise when i got back that Michelle had moved...into the line of people to receive tickets to get in.

The ticket was free, and all 4 of us got in, and sat next to each other. :) I gave the chairs away to people that looked like they needed them before going to get a proper dinner.I had tempura.

The World Cosplay Summit was a joy to watch, i would love to make comments on all the contestants individually but it would take all day.However you can watch the action on youtube. The winners were
http://http//www.youtube.com/watch?v=8_WW1WQRsQU
1st Japan
2nd Spain
3rd America

After the contest Michelle brought me to my train and we said our goodbyes for the next 6 months.It wasn't easy but today i am feeling positive. :) On the way back home i chatted to a man who had lived in NZ for a year. We chatted in half Japanese, half English and it made me happy to have something to take my mind off leaving Michelle.

(Michelle, i have your lens cap, want me to mail it to Aus?when you get home,please mail the doubles of those yukata photos to my parents, it will be quicker than if i had sent them my mail. lol)

Much fun and i slept until 2 today.
hope you enjoyed this blog and that your all well.

Belinda