Went to Kyoto yesterday
it was awesome!!
電車
Train trip was 3 hours, would have taken about 45 minutes by Nozomi (^.^) but we were doing Kyoto on a budget after what it cost for tickets. Here is where i got money from, my host mother payed for my 20¥ ($25) train ticket.
金閣寺
Went to the Gold Castle, which is three golden tears of pavilion loveliness. Included a linky for you all to explain,since you all liked the last one so much.The nature around the castle was nice to see, and i brought a souvenir.
らめん
Had ramen for lunch, which was tasty, but we had to eat it quickly or we would be late for the Kabuki. You mustn't be late for the Kabuki.
かぶき
The consisted of three performances by Bando Tamasaburo, each of different women characterised from famous Japanese tales. For each woman she(he)* wore one,sometimes two beautiful kimonos, and during the performance (kani-sama,the crabman as we call him) would come out and help her change right in the middle of the stage. very clever.
My favorite character was the first one, white and innocent, nothing on stage but her and a candle on a long stand. This simplistic but extremely detailed performance told of how she was waiting for someone.She often hid behind her umbrella and her sleeves, at one point allowing her feet to stray in little movements outside the kimono, but always returning them.
these are two of Tamasaburo's performances.
Sagi Musume
Wisteria Maiden
Tamasaburo is usually not seen by any other than the very wealthy, unlike Ebiso who i saw last time.His dance is considered a "gift from god" as when he was young Tamasaburo had a form of polio that left his legs slightly different lengths.
買い物
Next we had planned to see more castles, but instead settled with looking at shops.I brought a gift for Michelle that i think she will like. :) We went to Kyoto's Takashimaya, which is incidentally a similar shop to Myer at home. I brought some sakana mochi.(fish shaped mochi) and was declined a photo of a cute lady working at one of the japanese sweets counters. :( her outfit was so cute.! Mum brought a large amount of anko* filled sweets.
あとむ
We had planned to go to the Osamu Tezuka exhibition as Kyoto is the place where the world famous Astro Boy, or in Japan, Tetsuwan Atomu was created, however we didn't have enough time and arrived just in time to peer through the windows and visit the gift shop. I brought a little Kimba the White Lion to attach to my camera. :)
帰る
Returning home was strange as i had to stand half the time, on the way to Kyoto Remi and Mum had found a seat and i had stood the whole way leaned against a nice little corner and listening to music. was nice to sit.
晩御飯
Got home and dinner was ebi gratan( a bit like macaroni cheese with prawns ) and takoyaki. oishiiiii! (yummyyy!) then i ate some of the anko sweets and one of my two sakana mochi. :)
*I have a habit of calling people as they wish to look,Kabuki is played by all males.
* anko : a bean, sometimes red, sometimes white, that is crushed finely and put into sweets.
今日
Today i cleaned my room, hung the washing out and studied. Going to get some lunch happening soon i do hope, thought my host mother has gone to work.
みな everone (shoutout)
*Michelle is at Manifest ,hope that went well by the way.
*Mum i hope your well and not to stressed. Thankyou for the phone call the other day.
*Mainge hope school is going well and that your assignment is finished and is marked highly.
*Dad i hope the mines are treating you well, and that you receive your card sometime.
*Grandma, thanks for helping Mainge with her project, hope the house minding is well, and prepare for cosplay when i get home :P.
*Auntie Jo and the boys, hope your all well, Cam i still want to see your pimped snail.
*Grandma and Grandad, hope the temperature is fine down there, we are coming out of summer here, that means your about to go into it.Please say hello to all the frogs and lizards and i hope to get up there when i get home.
*Justin, hope you got your Inuyasha cosplay fixed, i would be happy to help.
*Milo i love you, hope your enjoying my room and using my things, remember to wash my toothbrush well and go easy on my icecream.
*JJ...you know what you are.
*anyone i missed in this shoutout, hope your well and i am sorry i missed you. Let me know and i will include you in my next blog.
Belinda
p.s JJ is a bitch.
Friday, August 21, 2009
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
lol still trying to get around to it i may have to buy the stuff to remake it for now. trying to get my stuff for my one i want currently my kenpachi one. :) glad to know you are doing well. i miss talking to you *hug*
ReplyDelete*huggles* I'm glad Kyoto went well. Let's take the nozomi next time, ne?
ReplyDelete