2 big days, 1 big festival
Saturday
Today i went to the anime parade in Osu Kannon.
Woke up at 8, which is a sleep in here. Went to the train station to meet with Michelle, she was late and i did get a bit worried.After my anime companion arrived we went to get breakfast and met a friend from school. It started raining muchly as we were leaving breakfast.I skipped around singing "raindrops are falling on my head" and apparently those around me enjoyed it. :)
Went to an apple store and had my iPod reserected, this was the second time it had stopped and the lady put it down to the battery being so low that it would not function.Must keep it charged from now on.
Trying to find where the anime parade was going to be held was very annoying, with my one umbrella, that Michelle had most of the time due to her choise to wear a thin white shirt >>. and a map that got destroyed as i had to use it as my umbrella, we didnt really have a clue. Stopping at a conveniance store we collected ourselves along with the remaining peices of the map. We only made it to the anime parade by following a cosplayer. (thankyou cosplay girl!)
The parade started from a temple, and ran down streets of indoor shopping, so even with the rain it was possable.Before the parade Michelle and i perused the shops and i found some evenglion hats that i wanted. :P but i did not buy them at that time.
There were many cosplays from many anime in the parade. http://http//www.flickr.com/photos/22013977@N06/
see above from images.
personally i liked the twin pichu, dark magician girl and the evenglion.
After the parade was the preveiw of the world finalists. I recognised Tsubaki and Katty Patra from events in Aus, and we also caught up with Widget ( Michelle's friend) and two other people from Australia who were there as part of the crew.
In the evening i brought the hats i wanted and we had dinner. I had Katsu Curry but it was no where near as good as the one from Rakuu.We went to Michelles hotel and sat down in the main lounge which was rather small. We were just about to go get icecream when the two other Australias turned up...with icecream. yay! so we ate and chatted before i went home.
Before Michelle and i went to the hotel we went to TVAichi and tryed to score some tickets for Sundays summit. I shall now tell you all about the tickets...i warn, this next paragraph is one big vent session.
(TICK(me off)ETS
Alright, from the beginning it was impossable to buy them from outside the country.The site said there were none, but really you received one if you baught a shirt(found out about this on sunday morning)they never actaully told you that you were buying a ticket.the other way to buy one was by mobile,japanese mobile of corse.one that you needed rededancy to obtain.>.<(found out about that one while waiting in line on Sunday).Only chance to obtain one if your from overseas,it to be early in line.However this rule was changed about an hour before the even started,no tickets were to be offered.)
Sunday
Caught the first train, that is 5:29. Michelle did the same from where she was staying.I arrived about six to Oasis 21, and waited in line with Michelle for the gates to open.They opened at 7 and the whole 5 people waiting flooded into the half inside half outside building.Organisers came shortly after, reasserting the barriers and dividing them into"those with tickets" and "those without". Michelle, myself and a Mexican who could speak Japanese very well, waited in the later while a bunch of young Japanese cosplay girls waited in the tickets line.We watched the contestants practice before the masses turned up. I got to chat briefly to Tsubaki and Katty as they were on their way to practice their skit.
Told we may receive tickets at 3, when the event started, if people from inside the seated area canceled, we waited, leaving one at a time to fetch food and go to the toilet.We met with Rei, Chinese lady who lived in America for a long time, and was now working in japan as a teacher with what she believes to be limited Japanese.She is nice and added to our party,making 4 ticket less foreigners.lol.
Sunday there were almost as many cosplayers as normal people, often i went with walks with Rei to take photos of them. :)
I brought a WCS towel and at 3 when we were fairly sure we would not get tickets i went and brought 3 chairs for Michelle, Rei and i, only to realise when i got back that Michelle had moved...into the line of people to receive tickets to get in.
The ticket was free, and all 4 of us got in, and sat next to each other. :) I gave the chairs away to people that looked like they needed them before going to get a proper dinner.I had tempura.
The World Cosplay Summit was a joy to watch, i would love to make comments on all the contestants individually but it would take all day.However you can watch the action on youtube. The winners were
http://http//www.youtube.com/watch?v=8_WW1WQRsQU
1st Japan
2nd Spain
3rd America
After the contest Michelle brought me to my train and we said our goodbyes for the next 6 months.It wasn't easy but today i am feeling positive. :) On the way back home i chatted to a man who had lived in NZ for a year. We chatted in half Japanese, half English and it made me happy to have something to take my mind off leaving Michelle.
(Michelle, i have your lens cap, want me to mail it to Aus?when you get home,please mail the doubles of those yukata photos to my parents, it will be quicker than if i had sent them my mail. lol)
Much fun and i slept until 2 today.
hope you enjoyed this blog and that your all well.
Belinda
Monday, August 3, 2009
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
mew :) It was so good to spend time with you :) I'm uploading the rest of the pictures now as I'm home and dressed in warm clothes again. I love you, Rei and I are chatting, and may you meet Sue or the Pika's again :) We must do this again next year :)
ReplyDelete