Tuesday, December 29, 2009
クリスマスは忙しかったです。最近 日本を本当に楽しんでいます。
I have been seriously busy enjoying my last few weeks of Japan and just haven't had time to write my poor little bloggy.
Quick recap of what I have been upto.
Christmas
-Up early to play Santa.All presents wrapped+delivered.
-Went to school and gave cat ears to friends
-Wore reindeer antlers and tinsel as scarf.
-Host sisters got a Wii- Belinda got lollies,soap,a scarf,a "special daughter" bell, Hello Kitty Calender.
(least my gifts I can take back to Australia easily though I think Grandma would have brought the Wii for me if I had let her 0.0, I gave her the hanten I made in home economics and she's wearing it thisevening)
-Many a party I did attend.
Movies with Remi
-She was late after almost not showing up
-Almost became a maid(and not a good one at that)while getting free net out the front of Nagoya Station
-watched 2012 and Twilight
-got home late
Osu Kannon with Maiko
-Chatted with Kenta-kun
-ate Custard-cream-crepe
-also ate Kebab from another friends shop.
-Brought Evangelion merch,gothic skirt,temple merch.
-Maiko-chan is one awesome girl with awesome gothic style, we MUST import her
Lunch with Remi and mum
-Lunch was Katsucurry
-Went to vegi market
-Clothes store,mum brought me a jumper.it's bright yellow
-Took prikua (those little cute photos) with Remi
-Decided to stay for dinner.it was sushi
-Got home a moment ago.
So that's a quick recount. If any of you have questions would to please write to my email.
No mum, I still haven't sent a box home but tomorrow is "house cleaning day" so I'm sure I will find a few extra things to send home in that time.
I'm on holidays untill the 4th and am looking forward to New Years or "Sho gatsu" in Japanese. It's like Christmas in Aus in that the family gathers and eats expensive food they only eat once a year.
Wishing you all a Happy New Years and I hope you find good company to welcome the new year with.
Much love.
Wednesday, December 16, 2009
You have all heard that my birthday went well and more of you sent cards than I expcted.
Thankyou to,G & G,Granny, Chris and Les,Michelle and the Ricardi crew.
I also received presents from mum,dad,mainge,Milo and Darkenss, which was nice.
You have all heard that I had 3 cakes, 2 at school (chocolate and white chocolate) given to me by my classmates. My third cake was one Agui grandma gave as a present,it was snoopy in space themed and my favrrite kind,icecream.
(two grandma's,the one who lives with us,hostdads mum, and the one who lives across the road and still tends the feilds, she's alot like Granny fyi. she just got back from a trip to Korea aka Agui grandma)
You all know we had takoyaki for dinner,I ate to much and had to sleep it off under the piano(which is where my host sister sleeps sometimes) for a few minutes.
Since that I have been enjoying days at school lasting only 3 hours due to large amounts of tests results being marked and handed back.
Cooked for my family for 2 days while my host mother went to Korea with Agui grandma.
Wrote some hiku and was comended by my classamates even thought it was in english. This was for my modern Japanese class
" the winter rain falls,
dreery mist is a blanket.
city sleeps beneath".
"cold winter beast
Playful nips become bites
Soon it's upon us"
I'v written my final speech to the school and my classamates.Now to memorize it.
Am writing Christmas cards to my in school friends after writing all yours( hope you get them by the way).
Soon I will be on Christmas holidays.
Been invited shopping after christmas with Maiko-chan
Hopeing to see a movie with Remi-chan sometime.
Probably catch up with a whole bunch of you online. so untill then I hope you enjoyed my blog and I will see you all soon ( with the exception of Justin who does infact live in America)
Quick thought on leaving.
I don't want to leave Japan, I have become to acustom to life here and the lifestyle.I have become acustom to eating foods that none of you would attempt to eat, to eating rice almost every meal, to using chopsticks,removing my shoes at the front door, wearing a seifuku ( cute school uniform) and speaking Japanese on a daily baisis. I am use to 3 trains every morning and 7 classes every day with one break for lunch. Acustom to attending clubs after school and comunicating across classrooms with cute print letters.
However I really miss you all and I know Christmas will be harder because of this. I have had so many familys in the past 9 months (5 in total) that it makes me realize just how wonderful my own family are. My real family. I also really want to feel the reverse culture shock when I get back to Australia too. To hear your accents and see what forigners see in your Australian style.
Untill my next post, be happy and take care.
Sunday, December 6, 2009
何もない
This year has gone so quickly it's amazing.
On my birthday I will be online so you will be able to chat to me and call me for free via skype from 8-9 am in the morning and in the afternoon after about 7:45. Please take these opportunitys instead of calling my mobile directly if you can. I shall text you all in the morning and hopefully chat to you all.
Today I rested and cleaned my room.
試験が終わりましたから、ぜひ、お楽しみ下さる。
I know it's been quite a long time since I blogged,and this as you know,if you have been reading my blog often, was because I was studying for my Japanese language proficiency test.
Well ladys and gentlemen,it's over.
終わりました!!!
The examination is over and done with.
For the verdict on whether I passed or not you will have to wait until I get the results back in January ,but my verdict is that if I passed it was not by much.
試験
The first section was really good,kanji and vocab,the second was listening in which the first half I stuffed up I think and the second part I did fairly well. The third part,which I was almost late for after eating my lunch to slowly,was woefully difficult and I got maybe half the questions right and am worried about the final bit which was the long answer,I read it fine but was not to sure about my chosen answers.
お母さん
My host mother has been so wonderful these past few days and this morning in the leadup to my exam. She got her class to write letters of encouragement for me which cheered me up and cheered me on. This morning she lent me her bottle of frankincense which calmed me down,this combined with the lavender I picked and prepared from the garden yesterday,was enough to keep me calm even sitting in the room before the exam. Thismorning she gave me her "ki" "気" which is hard to explain but it's like energy, Cam and Doug would know about this having done karate and such. To give someone else your "ki" is rare but so special.she also made me lunch today which is always a pleasure to eat and I am always thankful.
他の家族
Other helpful host family include grandma(not the one living with us ,the one that lives down the street and brings me sweet Japanese treats as she knows I like them) lent me her Panarana card,and no dad is not a ticket to the card racing, which allowed me to travel on all trains, overland, underground, skyline,whatever it took to get there.
.Of corse I must thank my Australian family too, Grandma and Grandad, the Ricardi crew, mum dad,mainge milo darkenss and bitch,also to Granny for her wonderful letters lately.
友達
There was a good side to doing the test though, I managed to make 4 friends today,two of them Italians who didn't speak much English so we spoke in Japanese, and on girl named Jenna who took level 2 who was from...you never would have guessedt..Australia!!!
I became really good friends with a lady named Sheyla (pronounced shay-la) who has hair the same colour as Michelle and is from Brazil. Her and I talked the whole way back to Nagoya and she is a nice person,she likes anime and chemistry and wants to go back to University as she didn't go after finishing school. Hope to chat to her again before I go home.
楽しい事ばかりが残っています
From now untill I go home all that is left to do is enjoy the positive things like birthday and Christmas. Guys thankyou for your birthday cards,I shall open them in 4 days and text you all with thanks. :)
明日の予定
Tomorrow my host sister has exams and I am a warn out little examine,so I shall stay home and sleep I do think. Didn't sleep much last night so I need some rest.Also I shall tidy my room as it reflects my mental state before the exam. Hope you are all well, I have returned to being well after my exam sickness but my head still hurts a little.
Be happy and take care.
Belinda
Friday, November 27, 2009
Baisicly there is one answer...study!!!
Though it's very unlike me, my upcomming JLPT has me so scared that I am actually studying and doing practice exams every day to prepare for it. Just so happens that I didn't bring my book of practice exams home with me on Friday so I haven't done one yet today. But I did one every day last week.unfortunatly even with the fairly good results I am getting I place my chanses of succeding at less than 40%. Though this is so, I am still trying.wish me luck.
今日
Today after a sleepin untill 9, I went to my mothers school to clean the rabbit cage, there are about 15 white(some are a little yellow to tell you the truth) rabbits,and I had promised weeks ago to help as I love the little creatures. I caught most of the rabbits,nameing them and cleaning their fur as I went. I also found a big black cat that looked like a leopard later on,the cat melted easily( like someone else I know) and it purred and meowed at me(also like someone else I know). After cleaning was done, on the way home we got takoyaki(octopus balls) and vanilla icecream. :)
未来
Much comming up in the next few weeks, not just the dreaded exam but my birthday and Christmas, so I am much looking forward to spending those times with my host family.I hope to make some Christmas decorations and I think my host family has god a christmas tree somewhere. Oh by the way they liked your card mummy and I told you I need more Christmas cards for everyone.
最後
Preparing my final speach for assembly which is a little easier to compose than my first speach for some reason. Looking forward to coming home to see you all. Worried about coming back to the real world, but hopeing I will survive there.
Be happy.Belinda.
Sunday, November 22, 2009
忙しかったけど、楽しかったです。
Yesterday was Sunday which is always a holiday and today is a special holiday so I am up lateish and will sleep in tomorrow.
Last week I did a practice tests (5 pages from my JLPT practice book)every day and did well. I am still behind on my kanji but at this point in time I think if I don't panic I will have a chance.kanji is realy tough still to learn and I hope to have the 400 esentials learnt in 2 weeks(wish me luck)
Went to BOOKOFF on Thursday and brought the last two realeased Tsubasa,happy I can read them in Japanese mostly(with much help from my dictionary) as they won't be released in English for a while.*giggle*
Got in contact with Kaori who is doing exams currently and will be going to Tokyo university to study English along with her specialty which she wrote in kanji so I am yet to recognize it.we email in Japanese so it's good practice using the 15 words or so I know. :)
Today i cleaned my room and pranced around the house eating the delishous senbe that Grandma brought especially because I enjoyed the last lot so much and Friday I went to the market they held down the road and I got a present for Buderum grandma :) hope she will like it.( received your post card by the way,thankyou so much for that). Also I received a present for Maingly if she will accept it.don't know if she will like it yet though 0.0
I am up late as I went to see This Is It, the film of Michaels last performance,I am really loving "earth song" at the moment(please look that up yourself as I am having trouble linking with the iPhone).it's a wonderful song about thinking about the world.
That's all for the moment.
Saturday, November 14, 2009
楽
My big discovery is that I have wireless internet at my host family house, so I will be able to blog as much as I need to over the last 2 months of my exchange even though computer club will be finishing next week.
昨日
Yesterday I went with my host mum to get school again to watch the kids performances and translate for the English teacher from Jamaica even thigh she understood most of what was being said.
Inbetween performances I wandered about the school and although people were not invited to, joined in with some of the classes. First I went to the first graders class where they were having music and practicing those pianos that you blow into to play. The first graders swarmed around me and played" twinkle twinkle little star" hopeing that I would listen to them play simultaneously.*giggle* they eventually got themselves sorted out and it was nice. They later joyed in playing with my hair and asking questions.( this was the class I visited last time I was at the school, where I was asked about my favrrite sadles).
I also spent time with my mothers class and we did syuuji "calligraphy". The days kanji was "大切な 命" which means "important existence".
When I finally found Shalifer(enlish teacher) the play was good. It was about how she encouraged the students to convey emotions and their thoughts. :)
昼ごはん
Lunch was nice,mum and I shared our luches with Shalifer as we had invited her go lunch ok short notice, desert was a cream puff from the schools principle. It was all yummy and I thanked the principle very much :)
After this I went with some of mums friends from the school, (the teachers are realy nice as it's a primary school) and we went to a cake shop. I had chocolate cake and mum had a green tea parfe that she let me eat some icecream from. After that I had a seasalt icecream( yes that's right, like on KingdomH), it was am interesting flavour but I like it.
今日
Today I ate pancakes and I plan to wash my hair.
お父さん
Dad thankyou so much for your mail. It really made me smile and it's great to hear from you.I think it's very funny your finaly caved I'm and brought an iPhone, that made me laugh the most. Tell Milo I am coming home to flea him :) my little fleebag, oh how I love him :)
おばあちゃん
Grandma I hope you got your card and enjoys it, I almost had to send it as a parcel as the map was thick. Thankyou so much for helping me in Japan, I really appreciate it so much :).
まだ やったこと ない
My host father here wants to feed me fugu(puffer fish) and says that it's not dangerous at all. I am still waiting to go to the maid cafe sometime also.My school friends had told me they want to go somewhere nice before I go, so it's either Disneyland of a bus tour of the countryside.
定期券
Train ticket ran out about a week ago, so that's why 1020¥ dissapeared so rapidly, actually my host mother lent me the money at first then I had to pay her back.
漫画
Was craving manga last week, and with no BOOKOFF near my current location I was forced to do something desperate. I had seen what looked like a BOOKOFF on the way to school along the meitetsu(overland train) line,about 30 minutes from Jingu Mae(a station).So in the afternoon,unsure if my ticket would allow me, or how to get to BOOKOFF from the station, I attatched the evangelion hair clips that icjad brought in Akihsbara, and began my adventure.
旅
Thankfully my ticket let me out of the station I had never been to before.I started down the streets lined with shops that soon turned to houses, no idea of the streets that I had never walked ok before,following the train line that I had seen the store on. I walked for about 20 minutes before realizing, I was following the wrong line!!! So I backtracked a little, giving up on BOOKOFF as it was getting dark. I would try again another time. It was then I saw the big“ 本", the sign of BOOKOFF about 10minutes walk from where I was, only problem was that I had crossed a river and I could not find a crossing :(. I did find out but it took an extra 5 minutes.BOOKOFF was amazing, I think it's the biggest in Nagoya actually, it's like a warehouse. I spent 10¥ on manga :) My GPS brain lead me back to the station and my ticket let me get back onto a train which happend to be the train I catch home from club usually anyway . I am so use to the train times now :)
レミ
Remi gave me some sad news two days ago, she is no longer able to to to Australia as her dad did not provide his passport :( though she states that she is okay and is continuing to learn enlish :) she still wants to come to Australia and my house, she just can't come next year.
That's if for the moment, this is a rather long post, I am off to wash my hair now. I did the bold letter coding for this myself as my iPhone won't let me write my blog in "compose" mode, so sorry they are not orange like usual
Take care and hope your all well.
Do send mail if you have time.
Sunday, November 8, 2009
そうじ しましょう!
Yesterday, after waking up at 12( thats midday) i cleaned the house with my host mother.
She was very glad of my help and we got alot done.After vaccuming the house i wiped down the areas above the doors and windows where Japanese people just cannot reach.
I ate a yellow apple and a few oranges from the tree out the front, they were good ^^
Dinner was omurice. (link included) then (excuse me but i forgot the name) various anko wrapped in a crape, i shall tell you when i remember but this was delicious. ^^
今日
Today was fantastic, i woke up late-ish (6:20) and was just in time to wake my host mother and host sister up.
School was good and i had Coten (contemporary Japanese) , which is taught by an awesome teacher, so it was much fun. When we get to a tough kanji she refers to me, knowing that i will panic. lol.She once asked me to translate a word which is classic Japanese for "toilet"..we have fun.
Also had taiiku (PE) which is the balancing beam. omg its scary getting onto that thing!.. but once i am on i can do everything perfectly :) probably thanks to ballet at an early age and kicks at teakwondo. Though i did dismount the wrong way and agitate my tkd knee injury ( i laughed as i wrote this, you can too ).
日本
Time in Japan is quickly running away. But i still cannot speak Japanese in the least, i have learnt about 10 words since i have come. Experiences have been many however and i am very happy here. have started walking around the neighbourhood listening to music. its relaxing.
Hope your all happy at home in Australia.
Thursday, November 5, 2009
今日 は 少しいだけです。
Today was a good day.
I woke up late ( 6:20) but in the time between 6 and 6:20 i had a dream with Spike from Buffy in it and i could fly. Its been ages since i had a dream in which i could fly.
Last night i went for a walk with Fran(the dog) which involved exploring,dancing and swinging. three of my favorite things on this wonderful planet. :) I also listened to music, which is amazing now, the sound is clear and the bass is well......*trys not to spasm just thinking about it* i enjoy good music.
Today is Friday, but i have school tomorrow. I slept 3/7 lessons today, which is a record.Was up to last last night as my host father was home and we all chatted and ate Australian food. :) Its so nice to know i will be with that host family until my exchange is up.
Studying for my JLPT and praying it wont be like my HSC. Test are such a scary thing for me.I don't like to fail things, because it means that time gets used up trying again.Time is unkind, she is always running away. But i am spending time where i want to be,so i forget that i am chasing her sometimes. Wish that's how is could be forever,but then "forever" is the very definition of "timeless".
The little nips of cold have turned into bites, like little puppies grown up.
I love English metaphors. they are so beautiful.
Hope your all well there in Australia getting ready for summer there in the Southern Hemisphere.I am looking forward to seeing you all in 2 months. :) hope you have organised my welcome home party. :P
Be Happy
Belinda
Tuesday, November 3, 2009
After my last blog, it began to rain...mechya heavy rain!!!
so i trecked with my sister to where we thought the bus left from, only to be told by about 3 diffrent people 3 diffrent places. *sigh* it was 15c and raining hard, my clothes got soaked,by bags, my hair.
I was happy to get on the bus when we found it, pull out my iPod and DS before attempting sleep.Sleep didnt come on the seat, half way on the seat, or on the floor of the bus.
Got home at 6 in the morning, had fun losing my seifuku which i had left in a locker at the station,but i found it again.Requested the day off, and was granted it,slept untill....3, in the afternoon.
that was Monday and the rest of Sunday.
Tuseday
Yesterday something amazing happend. I got my own room!!!!!
Its a smallish room previously used as a storeroom,its a few degrees colder than the other rooms with a smallish window. But its wonderful, and it fits all my stuff.
Had yesterday off as my friends had an exam that i could not take(preperation for their University Exam) so it was a great chance.
Before
I was previously sleeping in the same room as my little sister with much anoyance to her, especially when she wanted to study, and i wanted to sleep.Or when i wanted to have some quiet game time and she wanted to text people alone on her mobile. She is amazingly similar to Maingly sometimes ^^ all who know my real sister will testify that sleeping in the same room as her for extended periods of time is NOT advised. Got into trouble when she came home in a bad mood, started to clean her room, and i retrested to Grandmas room instead of tidying where i perceived it to be unpleasant.
Now
-I have two book cases full of childrens books in Japanese to read whenever i wish, the same bed i had before fits in the room well so that hasnt changed.
-The rooms main light is a bit clinical so i am using a cute little lamp that Mioko (my older sister) made when she was in Junior school, its light gives a kind feeling, like she does. :)
-There is a little red refrigerator that we found while cleaning, i put my water bottle( its a green frog bottle) in there for about half an hour before bed.
-I have a dressing table with a slide out stool and a big mirror.
-The little window has no curtain but it does let light in.
Also in the process of the move i scored Miokos official festival outift, its an awesome design and its such a privledge to have reveiced it.
Thismorning was 3c which will become even more normal from now on as we move into Winter in Japan.I could see my breath which makes me feel like a dragon :) they are so beautiful.
Starting to worry a little about my JLPT but i am studying for it muchly, not serious study but just a little every day. Still cant speak Japanese, i have learnt about 5 words since i got here, so its am improvement but not much.
must go now, will reply to mail and such on Friday if i have time.
be happy everyone.
much love to you all.
Sunday, November 1, 2009
東京
It was a wonderful experience to be in the same room as the man i admire so much.Its one things to read a book someone has written, and another to see them in person.
Took a few notes on my iPhone which will be extremely use full next year when i start Psychology at University.I have some great ideas how to use chosen areas at University to compliment each other. :)
Today the Dalai Lama met with 4 of the top scientists in Japan and they discussed the Future in terms of the global issues facing the world today. Things like " Environmental Destruction" and poverty".
Defiantly a worth while trip i do think. :)
i shall elaborate more when i have the time, i am currently in an Internet cafe on a 1 hour=320 plan, and i must go catch the night bus home so i can arrive in Nagoya,grab my stuff from the locker and go straight to school tomorrow. No stop at home, which is a bother as "home" is far out of Nagoya at the moment
Love you all, and i shall hopefully make this longer tomorrow after class.
be happy :) ( i am)
We left the house at 6, caught the usual trains to Nagoya station.
Wednesday, October 28, 2009
嫌だな 事
Mr Mac`s words keep swirling around in my head....
i let that man down.
2 months left in Japan, 1 month until my JLPT.( i know i can do okay,but i don't think i am ready)
you can guess my mood...hope it improves.
Mail from Grandad. Thankyou :)
Checked Myspace, everyone is growing up. Karel, your essays are amazing, i envy you.Sami you look similar to your mother.Maaike I'm miss you,hope your coping.Josh you and your boyfriend are a cute couple,it made me smile.Jordan, you were a cute kid.Bec, we shall party soon.Carl i hope you found a job, glad your relationship is going strong.Samuel,hope your having happy travels.
Be Happy.Send me mail sometime.
Belinda.
Monday, October 26, 2009
修学旅行
I have decided to recount it in point form to make it easyer to read for you all.
First Day
-Shinkansen left early on wednesday morning,i woke up at 5 to get into Nagoya in time.
-Sat next to Misaki (she is an awesome friend)
-forgot my lunch, Hirama-chan brought me something that looked expensive.
-Arrived in Nagasaki,went by bus to the Yoshinogari site.
-Walked around the reconstructed artifacts.
-Brought a souvaneer and was just in time to be on the bus to the hotel.
-Saw a beautiful veiw of Nagasaki from my hotel room.
-Ate about a million course dinner.
-Went to be early despite roudy room mates.
Second Day
-woken up at 3 by Ayumi turning on the main light
-Got mad...then the teachers sleeping next door got more mad.!! o.o
-Saw peace park and peace statue, took a photo with the statue.
-Went to the Atomic Bomb Effects Museum where it turned into History study.
-Was glad Aus has no WOMDS.
-Began tour of Nagasaki,went to Histrory Museum for about 10 minutes. (not an intrest of my friends unfortunatly, but i enjoyed my 10 minutes)
-Traveled by tram to Chinatown in Nagasaki.
-Ate green tea icecream and beefmanjyu. Broguht a small souvaneer and Custella, the local famous cake.
-Went by boat to an island with an onsen, got naked...bathed. o////o
-Ate Custella Ice. it was yummy.
-Went to the hotel and went to bed early as it was a double room with Misaki only.
Day Three
- Hous Ten Bosch!!!!!!!!!!! a little Amsterdamn in Japan.
-we took class photos at all the places we went to, so took our daily class photo.
-Ate Chocolate fondue at the Chocolate house.
-Went to see " The amazing Echer" which was strange as his artworks are.
-Navigated the mirror maze then shopped.
-Wandered over to the Miffy shop....thats where my money seriously depreciated >.< -Saw Kilala at the IMAX theatre, it was awesome and probably my faverite thing for the day. -Ate purple icecream. sorbet actually. -Watched the fireworks in the evening and met a lady who was very kind. :) We chatted for a while and afterwards i felt very positive and happy. -Stayed at the best hotel called the Amsterdam. It had a closted like in Germany(remember Mainge). -Chatted with friends untill bed time when i got on my special hotel pjs and snept. Day Four
-Ate breakfast and left Amsterdam.
-Went to a big museum that i enjoyed too much and was last to leave, they had to come find me amongst the artifacts. The stuff on the Silk Road was good.
-Missed my music as my headphones broke on the shinakansen to Nagasaki.
-Went to the temple of the study god.
-Ate a cute little obento(lunchbox)
-brought more sweets for my host family.
-Caught the Shinkansen home,
Nakasaki>>>Nagoya>>>Sakae>>>Kamimaizu>>>Kanayama>>>Agui
that's the trains i caught home. o.o
Today was a good day, i still cant speak Japanese and i am worried about my impending JLPT but my friends and i are closer than ever and host family are mostly good.
Hope you are all well in Australia and i look forward to mail from all of you who read and even from the newer readers.
Be Happy.
Belinda
Sunday, October 18, 2009
本当 に 久しぶり
Tday i have so much to report on that i probably wont be able to write it all in the 20 minutes i have on the library computers.
Basically my new host family are a great family, its mum dad,two sisters(one older,one younger) and grandma. They live in a big house and i share a room with the younger of the sisters which has been an experience.
My host mother went to America on exchange when she was younger and so she understands a little of what its like to be an exchange student. She is a junior school teacher and i went with her last Thursday as my friends had exams, and spent a day answering questions about
Australia and some very personal questions about myself including "what are your favorite sandals?" I met the English teacher at her school who cannot speak much Japanese despite being in Japan since passably before i came.However shes a wonderful bubbly person and i enjoyed chatting to her about her country Jamaica.My host mother also has a great fun personality and we have lots of fun and laughs.
My host father is a university professor, not sure what he teaches, but his job is in Nagoya and i don't see him much as he works long hours.He likes golf, and my host mother and i had much fun thinking how to describe him in the "about host family" sheet sent to my real mum and dad, we were thinking something along the lines of elegant..? XD
My oldest host sisters name is Mioko, she is a university 4th year and her English is really good i think. Its better then my Japanese by a mile but she doesn't use it much, she is thinking of going on exchange next year so i am doing my best to encourage her to do so. :) She has a great personality and enjoys sweet things almost as much as me. :P Mioko loves festivals and has promised to take me to maid yaki niku sometime. yay
My younger host sisters name is Nanako, she is a first year at Ohka(mum, that's first year of high school here, so year 10 in Aus) She is quiet and loves playing piano, she wants a pet squirrel and her favorite band is Arashi (storm in japanese). I sleep in the same room as her and i know she wishes i would do more homework as she gets alot.She also likes testing her friends on her mobile and spends much time doing so. That's normal for Japanese school girls. o.o
Grandma is in the house most days except when she goes to day service where she hangs out with her friends, we often chat while Nanako is watching grandmas room. She tells me about all kind of things like places i am going to and the quickest way to get to wherever i want to go in Japan, she has been many places i want to go. Grandma makes the rice every dinner time and she is a little hard of hearing so i have been able to practice my Japanese loud and clear.
Fran is the dog, she is a fluffy little dog who looks like a fox when she is sleeping and when she looks straight at you. She loves to go for walks and i took her for a long one yesterday :) then i gave her a brush as she got stuff in her fluff :P I really like Fran and i am happy this house has a dog as well.
My trip to Tokyo was as follows..everything went great on the way there, left the house and caught about the first train that left my closest station, was a joy to ride the shinkansen again, i really enjoy it. Got to Tokyo and met with one of the returnees, collected the other exchange students from other countries and we went to the meeting where we were questioned about Aus and the countries we were from. The other inbounds went home and i stay with Remi as promised, JFIE payed my food and accommodation to make up for not paying for transport. My group was great and we did well in our presentation about Japanese festivals in English. :)Only just got home on the shinkansen thanks to a future exchange student lending me 1200en ($15) , she will be in Australia next year so i look forward to repaying her 100 fold.
Tomorrow is a holiday to prepare for my school trip which is on Wednesday.
I am going to get married to Yuka and Moemi who confessed their love to me and stated they wished to marry me. It will be a wedding while the sakura are blossoming with a theme of blue and white and will have penguins and bunny rabbits and a three(maybe 5) teared cake. Hope you all can make it and i will give you mo0re details when i get to a computer next.
Time is up so i have to go now, hope your all well and when i can read my mail (when i am not on the library computers) i look forward to comment from you all.
Take Care and be happy.
Belinda.
Wednesday, September 30, 2009
待って 下さい
Today's report is being pushed back until sometime next week as my host sisters class seems to have caught influenza and i have been told to stay at home with her until Friday.
This afternoon i cant write as i have a lesson with Kito sensei about a report i am to write for the school newspaper. Its getting ergent and we still need to go through it one last time.
This means i will probably not report until after the host family change. It will be on Saturday and will happen regardless of if i catch the flu.*pout* I have been dragging bags to school one by one as they are heavy o.o
It rained today and the weather has been humid. I am well(not sick yet :P) and my host family are well also. My class are also well and classes are as normal.
Got lent the new KH in Japanese from Maiko-chan( for all you who know what that is, be happy for me, if you don't..ha ha don't worry) its going to be fun and i plan to get stuck into it and really do my best.
Much love to you all and stay tuned to by blog for my next report.
be happy.
Monday, September 28, 2009
Friday, September 25, 2009
壊れた
Sorry this blog is late >.<. My host familys computer broke unexpectedly and i have been unable to access the net since well..since my last post.
おかさい
Ohka-sai, my school festival was much fun :) My class sold a lot of things at out bazaar and the rest of the school really put on a good show. My classmates wore the cat ears that i made and there were almost enough for everyone. :) they all looked very cute.
イラスト部
I spent a lot of time in the specially created "elastobu room" where i drew anime and participated in the picture auction where i won two pictures, one of them by Yuka. (she is a third grader, they will not be attending club anymore as they have to study) also borrowed pens for anime from Yuka and made her a pink hello kitty draw string bag to keep them in as thanks.
食べ物
There were also a lot of yummy food stalls that i went to also. the students at this school are good at cooking too. They even had an icecream stall that i enjoyed very much :P (icecream has been scarce lately as my host mother loves fruit, but the grapes and the watermelon and the kuri(nuts,the inside has the texture of mashed potato, yummy) and the japanese pears(omfg yumm!!!) are equally as good :)
Right now i am skipping a class with permission from the teacher to write this as i don't have much time and this club is only a few days a week. :( sucks that the host family's computer is broken...
studying still for the JLPT and remembering (especially today for some reason) the failure that was my HSIE and attempt to get into Uni, all the things i will be back to when i get home. Gotta get my forms in for that too...
日本語
Japanese is...well..bad. I tried to talk to some people just before and i completely failed. My host mother is intent on improving my pronunciation though and i am intent this week on learning new kanji. I impressed the kanji teacher who thought i was doing stuff all in her class when she saw that i was actually studying the whole time.
運動
Still going my excersise but i am actually gaining weight instead of losing it. trying to find excises for that i can do without my exercise bike at the next family.
家族
Change of host family has been pushed back a week because the mother of the family will not be home this Saturday. I shall still take most of my bags to the school this Saturday thought,with the exception of a few of my essentials. Next week every day is school so i will only really need a few shirts and pants along with my toiletries.
旅
I will be off to Tokyo in 2 weeks with my current host sister and my school trip is in 4 weeks. (more information on those as they get closer) Worried about Tokyo as i know other exchange students will be there and i will feel embarrassed to speak to them in Japanese. But i am looking forward to the other places i might get to go including Harajiku and especially Akihabara.
that's all for now i think.
wish me luck in the next week and i hope to be back to blog again on Monday if i can make it.
Thankyou to everyone who reads my blog, special hello to Gaye :) hope your well and thankyou for looking after my precious Milo and that thing JJ while mum and dad were away.
Also a hello to Michelle, sorry that i was only on the computer for a while. didnt really have time to talk.
Wednesday, September 16, 2009
たいくさい
Yesterday was also slow for me as i went to the same place as i went today and we watched the schools volleyball contest. My class made it to the finals but got knocked out when only 4 teams were left. After that i went back to the school and helped my class get things ready for the school festival. We are going to sell things so we have to price them all. Michelle i brought you something, we had a bidding war for it because so many people in the class wanted it. lol. hope you will like it.
In the evening i watched a show and they brought up the subject of "Whaling" for debate and had some Australians (including one of the guys from Greenpeace) debate with a Japanese team. It was "abunai" dangerous. lol. Remi has as strong views as the man from Greenpeace,but for the other team.... shall i say no more. I didn't say much and was happy when at the end the Japanese people reminded the audience (made up of people representing various countries) that Aus and Japan agree about 90% of the time. After that they continued to the question "is Japan Americas dog"..that was even more messy so the previous debate was forgotten.
Japan is treating me very well. Almost finished my entry form for the exchange student exam and i will have it sent out on time i think. Study is picking up again as i am able to ask my host mother questions about new sentences i learn and thus learn the correct sentences. I still read manga a little but have started to chat to people more as i have the words to say basically what i want to say. I am still feeling behind in my study. But there has been improvement..just a little..gosh it took me 6 months almost to be able to say that. 3 months late but oh well. This trip to Japan is a start, if i cant speak it fluently..no problem. This is practice for when i come back and its definitely good experience if i wish to become a translator or a Japanese teacher.(probably more than enough to be a Japanese teacher).
The weather is getting cooler and i am enjoying this.Looking forward to so many things, the trees changing colours, school trip, the school festival..so many good things coming up so i am feeling really positive.
I am still doing my exercises but skipping it sometimes. Not losing any weight..but not gaining any no many how much choc pan and pocky i eat :P. Its actually fun now to exercises. I listen to fun music and sing and its like a more hyper version of my swing at home.(miss my swing).
Going to have dinner now. Michelle thankyou for you package. and i look forward to mums when it comes.Hope your all well and i should be on during or after the weekend to report on my school festival.
Friday, September 4, 2009
冷静
i notice how many of you have sent me messages on my hotmail. thankyou for that.
its the best way to reply to my blog so that i will be able to know you sent me something.
季節
Its coming into Autumn here which is strange as its mid-year. The leaves here actually change colours so its going to be a very pretty sight i do think :). The weather is getting cooler which is pleasant as you all know how much i looooove the heat. o.o`
元気?
Hope everyone had a good week. I definatly did. :)
学校
Back to school this week after my summer holidays so it was wonderful to see all my friends again and continue projects that i started before the holidays such as the hanten that i am making in home economics.
予定
My school timetable changes as of monday as i understand classes more now and MrHiramatsu (teacher who is meant to be in charge of me, but does a poor job of it often) decided that i should spend more time with my classmates before the school trip.
(quick note to mum, they want me to pay for that soonish) >.<
部活
Club is..well i haven't been for a long time and my host sister doesn't do club anymore.Hoping i will be able to go sometimes anyway when she stays late at school for study.
家族
My host family continue to be great to me and i do my best to help them out whenever i can wish washing and such. We are considering going somewhere nice for the holidays from the 20-23 of this month. Somewhere with pretty nature we are thinking, but its still not decided.(my host mother makes my obento every day, so i should be able to save some money this month for that)
Chatted to my counselor about my next host family after this month (this has been my first proper 3 month host family stay). Still the school has not been able to decide a new host family for me as they had no plan for long term exchange students before i came to the school.
勉強
studying for the JLPT now which is looking more scary every day. i really don't know enough Japanese even for lvl3. wish me luck closer to the date. I'm trying.
be happy all of you.
Michelle i look forward to your package. Mum or Mainge thankyou for sending the address.
Grandad thankyou for your mail. i appreciate it.
(todays blog title is "reisei" (rae-say) which means, cool and calm, you may also use "heiki" (hay-key) if someone asks you how you are. :) this also means cool and calm)
Monday, August 31, 2009
しけん
having some trouble filling them out in japanese, i shall get the teachers help tomorrow.
back to school tomorrow. back to lessons with sensei shall be good.Looking forward to seeking my friends again.
brought some manga today.Clover,Venus VS Virus,しろひめ (white princess,japanese tale).reading about a manga book a day, in japanese.
stil cant do it without furigana ( hiragana (can read) next to the tough kanji(sometimes cant read).
Friday, August 21, 2009
きょうと
it was awesome!!
電車
Train trip was 3 hours, would have taken about 45 minutes by Nozomi (^.^) but we were doing Kyoto on a budget after what it cost for tickets. Here is where i got money from, my host mother payed for my 20¥ ($25) train ticket.
金閣寺
Went to the Gold Castle, which is three golden tears of pavilion loveliness. Included a linky for you all to explain,since you all liked the last one so much.The nature around the castle was nice to see, and i brought a souvenir.
らめん
Had ramen for lunch, which was tasty, but we had to eat it quickly or we would be late for the Kabuki. You mustn't be late for the Kabuki.
かぶき
The consisted of three performances by Bando Tamasaburo, each of different women characterised from famous Japanese tales. For each woman she(he)* wore one,sometimes two beautiful kimonos, and during the performance (kani-sama,the crabman as we call him) would come out and help her change right in the middle of the stage. very clever.
My favorite character was the first one, white and innocent, nothing on stage but her and a candle on a long stand. This simplistic but extremely detailed performance told of how she was waiting for someone.She often hid behind her umbrella and her sleeves, at one point allowing her feet to stray in little movements outside the kimono, but always returning them.
these are two of Tamasaburo's performances.
Sagi Musume
Wisteria Maiden
Tamasaburo is usually not seen by any other than the very wealthy, unlike Ebiso who i saw last time.His dance is considered a "gift from god" as when he was young Tamasaburo had a form of polio that left his legs slightly different lengths.
買い物
Next we had planned to see more castles, but instead settled with looking at shops.I brought a gift for Michelle that i think she will like. :) We went to Kyoto's Takashimaya, which is incidentally a similar shop to Myer at home. I brought some sakana mochi.(fish shaped mochi) and was declined a photo of a cute lady working at one of the japanese sweets counters. :( her outfit was so cute.! Mum brought a large amount of anko* filled sweets.
あとむ
We had planned to go to the Osamu Tezuka exhibition as Kyoto is the place where the world famous Astro Boy, or in Japan, Tetsuwan Atomu was created, however we didn't have enough time and arrived just in time to peer through the windows and visit the gift shop. I brought a little Kimba the White Lion to attach to my camera. :)
帰る
Returning home was strange as i had to stand half the time, on the way to Kyoto Remi and Mum had found a seat and i had stood the whole way leaned against a nice little corner and listening to music. was nice to sit.
晩御飯
Got home and dinner was ebi gratan( a bit like macaroni cheese with prawns ) and takoyaki. oishiiiii! (yummyyy!) then i ate some of the anko sweets and one of my two sakana mochi. :)
*I have a habit of calling people as they wish to look,Kabuki is played by all males.
* anko : a bean, sometimes red, sometimes white, that is crushed finely and put into sweets.
今日
Today i cleaned my room, hung the washing out and studied. Going to get some lunch happening soon i do hope, thought my host mother has gone to work.
みな everone (shoutout)
*Michelle is at Manifest ,hope that went well by the way.
*Mum i hope your well and not to stressed. Thankyou for the phone call the other day.
*Mainge hope school is going well and that your assignment is finished and is marked highly.
*Dad i hope the mines are treating you well, and that you receive your card sometime.
*Grandma, thanks for helping Mainge with her project, hope the house minding is well, and prepare for cosplay when i get home :P.
*Auntie Jo and the boys, hope your all well, Cam i still want to see your pimped snail.
*Grandma and Grandad, hope the temperature is fine down there, we are coming out of summer here, that means your about to go into it.Please say hello to all the frogs and lizards and i hope to get up there when i get home.
*Justin, hope you got your Inuyasha cosplay fixed, i would be happy to help.
*Milo i love you, hope your enjoying my room and using my things, remember to wash my toothbrush well and go easy on my icecream.
*JJ...you know what you are.
*anyone i missed in this shoutout, hope your well and i am sorry i missed you. Let me know and i will include you in my next blog.
Belinda
p.s JJ is a bitch.
Thursday, August 20, 2009
100¥
Underestimated the price of the Kabuki tickets,they were $27 more than i thought they would be.Sorry mum and dad, i have spent to much this month already,so i wont withdraw anything more out. But no souvenirs or special sweets.
Still craving a motchi (added the t, so you can all pronounce it right) fish, but they are $2.50...might buy a new manga book with my money for the trip. Manga here are $1.05!!!
Tuesday, August 18, 2009
戻る!
学校
Again school is back to being only 3 hours a day but it would be so much better for me to stay at home and study then to wake up ridiculously early to catch a train then move about unsettled for the 3 hours. Then again its nice to chat to my friends again.
家族
Host family are well but i may be changing host family again after only 2 months. Don't like that idea but if the reasons are good i guess i will have to. For the moment i am safe here for a while and as i said, its a great place to be.Trying to lose a little weight, wonder how long that will last *giggle*
勉強
Study is still...well i am almost half way through the exchange and still i cant speak Japanese at all, i still struggle on using the same basic words i learnt from he start. It WAS frustrating, but now its just daily life. getting use to being practically mute i guess. Brought a kanji learning book that has the pictures, i think it will be good.
Manga stocks in my room are getting low,but i under guessed the cost of Kyoto and my class special shirt so i am broke until next week at least, choosing to be so instead of draw out more and more moneys. :( i feel bad, my withdrawal record for this month is terrible because of the theme park AND Kyoto. :(
We finished the watermelon so i brought some timtams :) found a Byron Bay cookie comapany cookie yesterday. at it and almost cryed. it was sweet and wonderful.
craving an anko sakana.
Sunday, August 9, 2009
News is that i went to Nagashima Spaland (japanese link) (wikipedia link) with some school friends. which is a waterpark and a theme park. I only went to the themepark, but i spent all day there and it was awesome.Went on just about all the rides including the Steel Dragon, its really really high, really really fast and really really long. o.o (please click the linkies)
Yesterday we had sashimi for dinner and octopus for lunch. Remi's grandfather is a fish seller and so we were sent a big box of seafood to enjoy. Got scratched by a stray cat and then steralized the area with the stuff mummy gave me.iodine is good.
Been studying, but still cant speak japanese. tis not good.On proper holidays now where i dont have to go to school atall. yay!
hope your all well in Australia and other countrys.
Belinda
Monday, August 3, 2009
世界 の アニメ
Saturday
Today i went to the anime parade in Osu Kannon.
Woke up at 8, which is a sleep in here. Went to the train station to meet with Michelle, she was late and i did get a bit worried.After my anime companion arrived we went to get breakfast and met a friend from school. It started raining muchly as we were leaving breakfast.I skipped around singing "raindrops are falling on my head" and apparently those around me enjoyed it. :)
Went to an apple store and had my iPod reserected, this was the second time it had stopped and the lady put it down to the battery being so low that it would not function.Must keep it charged from now on.
Trying to find where the anime parade was going to be held was very annoying, with my one umbrella, that Michelle had most of the time due to her choise to wear a thin white shirt >>. and a map that got destroyed as i had to use it as my umbrella, we didnt really have a clue. Stopping at a conveniance store we collected ourselves along with the remaining peices of the map. We only made it to the anime parade by following a cosplayer. (thankyou cosplay girl!)
The parade started from a temple, and ran down streets of indoor shopping, so even with the rain it was possable.Before the parade Michelle and i perused the shops and i found some evenglion hats that i wanted. :P but i did not buy them at that time.
There were many cosplays from many anime in the parade. http://http//www.flickr.com/photos/22013977@N06/
see above from images.
personally i liked the twin pichu, dark magician girl and the evenglion.
After the parade was the preveiw of the world finalists. I recognised Tsubaki and Katty Patra from events in Aus, and we also caught up with Widget ( Michelle's friend) and two other people from Australia who were there as part of the crew.
In the evening i brought the hats i wanted and we had dinner. I had Katsu Curry but it was no where near as good as the one from Rakuu.We went to Michelles hotel and sat down in the main lounge which was rather small. We were just about to go get icecream when the two other Australias turned up...with icecream. yay! so we ate and chatted before i went home.
Before Michelle and i went to the hotel we went to TVAichi and tryed to score some tickets for Sundays summit. I shall now tell you all about the tickets...i warn, this next paragraph is one big vent session.
(TICK(me off)ETS
Alright, from the beginning it was impossable to buy them from outside the country.The site said there were none, but really you received one if you baught a shirt(found out about this on sunday morning)they never actaully told you that you were buying a ticket.the other way to buy one was by mobile,japanese mobile of corse.one that you needed rededancy to obtain.>.<(found out about that one while waiting in line on Sunday).Only chance to obtain one if your from overseas,it to be early in line.However this rule was changed about an hour before the even started,no tickets were to be offered.)
Sunday
Caught the first train, that is 5:29. Michelle did the same from where she was staying.I arrived about six to Oasis 21, and waited in line with Michelle for the gates to open.They opened at 7 and the whole 5 people waiting flooded into the half inside half outside building.Organisers came shortly after, reasserting the barriers and dividing them into"those with tickets" and "those without". Michelle, myself and a Mexican who could speak Japanese very well, waited in the later while a bunch of young Japanese cosplay girls waited in the tickets line.We watched the contestants practice before the masses turned up. I got to chat briefly to Tsubaki and Katty as they were on their way to practice their skit.
Told we may receive tickets at 3, when the event started, if people from inside the seated area canceled, we waited, leaving one at a time to fetch food and go to the toilet.We met with Rei, Chinese lady who lived in America for a long time, and was now working in japan as a teacher with what she believes to be limited Japanese.She is nice and added to our party,making 4 ticket less foreigners.lol.
Sunday there were almost as many cosplayers as normal people, often i went with walks with Rei to take photos of them. :)
I brought a WCS towel and at 3 when we were fairly sure we would not get tickets i went and brought 3 chairs for Michelle, Rei and i, only to realise when i got back that Michelle had moved...into the line of people to receive tickets to get in.
The ticket was free, and all 4 of us got in, and sat next to each other. :) I gave the chairs away to people that looked like they needed them before going to get a proper dinner.I had tempura.
The World Cosplay Summit was a joy to watch, i would love to make comments on all the contestants individually but it would take all day.However you can watch the action on youtube. The winners were
http://http//www.youtube.com/watch?v=8_WW1WQRsQU
1st Japan
2nd Spain
3rd America
After the contest Michelle brought me to my train and we said our goodbyes for the next 6 months.It wasn't easy but today i am feeling positive. :) On the way back home i chatted to a man who had lived in NZ for a year. We chatted in half Japanese, half English and it made me happy to have something to take my mind off leaving Michelle.
(Michelle, i have your lens cap, want me to mail it to Aus?when you get home,please mail the doubles of those yukata photos to my parents, it will be quicker than if i had sent them my mail. lol)
Much fun and i slept until 2 today.
hope you enjoyed this blog and that your all well.
Belinda
Tuesday, July 28, 2009
ねこ 耳 を 作った
Really there is not that much to post on today folks.Its been school holidays but Remi still goes to school for 3 hours a day >.<>
Monday, July 20, 2009
さいしょ の お祭り
As i have told you all it is currently festival season, and it was only a matter of time until i attended a festival.
Yesterdays festival was at the aquarium.I went with 4 other friends including Naoko and Chiharu.
Earlier in the day i left home at 9:30 to meet with Naoko(almost forgetting my train ticket too, but i planned for time to relax,so that was spent running back to the apartment)Naoko and Chiharu wore their yukatas but Ayumi and the other girl wore normal clothes.We had takoyaki for lunch.
ペンギン
At the aquarium the first thing we went to see were the penguins, they had a rather small inside enclosure with to many penguins packed in, i wanted to break the glass and set them free to roam the aquarium.
Second was the dolphin show,very impressive with the jumps and the interaction with the trainers. i told everyone about the Hitchikers Guide, of which they had no knowledge, and how from the many beach fronts of Ballina and the side of a jetski you can see the dolphins play.they were impressed.
シチャ
We got our photo taken with a killer whale statue and then roamed around looking at various fishes.In the kids section we all enjoyed the touch pool and made origami fish to stick to a wall full of them.
Found a foreign boy that the girls were all squeeing over, so i when to chat to him, he was from Germany and here visiting his Japanese host brother.My friends enjoyed that very much and even tried some of their English on him.
お祭り
At 4 we left the aquarium and headed up a street heavily lined with market stalls of all kinds,some sold colourful masks,drinks,watermelon,light devises(you know the flashy colour ones kids like) and of course many foods.We perused the markets for a while and i brought a drink in a frog flask that later leaked CC Lemon all through my bag.o.oWe got a good spot just in time to see the colourful brilliantly decorated floats move down the street,i think there is a float per temple and the members of the temple walk out in front pulling it along.On the floats are people playing shamisen and behind them are taiko drummers which i enjoyed very much.
花火
The fireworks were spectacular, so many styles and colours i had never seen used before in Aus.They even had tako (octopus) shaped and smiley faces, hearts even. I have a few recordings of them for you all when i get a camera lead :).seriously the fireworks here are much better and bigger and louder than those at home.
We left before the grand finally of the fireworks as at that point everyone rushes to get on trains and such. Thanks to my friends knowledge we all got home happily and not squashed. :P.
The festival experience was truly amazing and i do hope i will be able to go to more festivals in the future and maybe even come back for another year of it during or after uni.Today its school holidays, however the students have school, i decided to stay home and study today to have some me time but shall be going to school tomorrow probably to make cat ears.
Hope you are all well and thank you to all who are reading my blog.
belinda
Monday, July 13, 2009
話す
from now on untill the school holidays school is 4 hours a day. this is due to the hot weather.
today was the speech contests :) in english 12 chosen students from diffrent classes perfom a speech in english. i was very suprised, the chosen students english was very good!
after the speeches i made a breif speech in english about what i liked about japan and ohka, i only wrote what i can say myself in japanese. so it was not tough.
after my speech there was still time to me and yoshi amused the students a little, however at a request to see my taekwondo, i think my kick accidently flashed panties ..not to worry, its an all girls school :)
the next few weeks are full of fun things, on thusday there is harry potter with remi, monday is the aquarium with friends and the following sunday is yukata day followed the next sunday by the anime summit. so exciting and it should be very enjoyable.
momo got a haircut the other night, or should i say a fur cut, she is looking very stylish in her summer coat.have milo and jj had a furcut lately? if someone has pictures of them, send them to me, especially milo. i miss that mut.
horse riding was nice but i only watched as it costs alot to get a pass to actually ride the horses.nevertheless a trip to the country was refreshing and we listened to michael jackson the whole way. :)
minges birthday soon, what do you want mainge?
still noone has taken the time to write me mail in reply to my blogs or anything. not even on the interet. either that or all those who care are busy. *sigh* i take the time when i can to write you all these posts so you know what i am upto.
its about to rain soon. summer brings many good things despite the heat, icecream, lemonaid,festivals.
today i realised that i can have a conversation partly,for a short time in japanese, after the speech contest yoshi (yoshizawa sensei) and i amused the crouds of school girls, he asked me questions in english and i would answer in japanese. i really am the school pet, but its fun and people really like me.
had a duster fight with ayumi after class,it was fun. lol. dont tell jfie please.
love you all and i hope you are well. look forward to hearing from you and i will get my new address for you asap.
belinda
Saturday, July 11, 2009
たなばた
well lets start by telling you all that it is currently the wetseason here, just like in Australia they have a few months of every year that are rainy and very humid. i dislike humidity but growing up in places like Townsville and Buderum i am use to a little humidity.the teacher from America isnt so lucky.
学校
the students at school are finally finished their exams so i should be back to normal classes again soon. i made a few pairs of cat ears while the students had exams which was nice. i also met up with the first host familys daughter and had a chat, in japanese, with her. she is nice and i hope to chat with her again.
there was another case of influenza in the same building as the home economics room, i risked the flu to make my cat ears but thanks to my b and t cells i am alive and well. gotta love my immune system.
大学
went to a university fair with Remi(host sister) and i checked out many universitys that offer psycology and art. yesterday i went to the Zokei university open day,its an arts only school in Nagoya that looks good. i made a ring and a teabowl, both are not finished yet but when they are the uni will call Misaki ( my friend) and we will pick them up.
生活
daily life in japan in great now, this family is small but it means there is room for a Belinda in it. my room is on the first of two floors which is really the basement level of a condominium. but its a flush condaminum, much like my house at home with much expensive stuff in a small space, neatly arranged and clean. my chores are to keep my room tidy, something that i am getting very good at.On Remi`s birthday Michael Jackson died and so that somehow connects them in japan, she brought his cd and has been listening to it everywhere, home, car. i know all the words so it will be my job to teach the family them.we celebrated tanabate(blog name) its otherwise known as the star festival and there is the ore-hime and hikoboshi (star princess and prince) and the children make wishes and hang them on a bamboo branch :) its a cute little tradition and i would like to take it to Australia.
活動
appart from my trip to the uni yesterday i have not been anywhere much, we went out for dinner last night, something i was verry happy about. i like going out. i am able to ride the subway by myself now and figure out how to get places even if it means changing trains. next weekend Remi and i are going to watch Harry Potter. yay! and they following week the yukata day thenthe world cosplay summit the following, i have made teachers and host family aware that i intend to go.
他
unless you dont all know, Kawaru( in my earlyer posts) was hit by a car and died. i know this becuase i watched it happen. first time seeing something die before my eyes and i cryed of corse. it freaked me out alot. :( first friend i lost while in Japan. very sad.
have bounced back now though and life looks good today as we get reading to go horse riding then to book off after that.
日本語
i still cant speak japanese and japanese lessons have been slack lataly due to tests.i have stopped stressing about it though. i am making the most of my time with friends and being happy, i write my diary in japanese every evening and i complete the texts sent to me by jfie when i can. i read manga and i can actually understand most of it now.
Saturday, July 4, 2009
ながい 時間 が かかった
writing to you from my new host familys house. its a rather large condominuim in the middle of the city and its very nice.
there are 4 members in this family, remi, her mother and momo. and now me!!!momo is the dog. :Phopefully i will be here for 3 months but still undecided.
next yeah remi will be an echange sudent to aus, we dont know where yet but shes really looking forward to it and i would love it if she came to my house.she likes horses and she wants to become a surgen as she had an operation when she was 4.
both my host mother and sister are studing english so i will become a sensei.
how are you all in aus?
how is the weather? its warm here, has been lately and its not even summer yet. been using my japanese fan. oh and many festivals comming up soonish.
japanese is coming along okay i guess, the 3 month thing is a lie!!!!!! i have been writing diarys every day for the past 2 weeks and they seem to be hepling with my written. still spoken is a problem though.
school is going well though , my classmates are taken a liking to me i think which is good. they remind me of my 8th grade class`s boys. obsessed with boy bits and girl bits. *giggle* especially ayumi. going to the aquarium on the 20th of this month with friends. yay.
mummy i used a little to much money this week. had to spend to much on replacement tickets when my chikatetsu and meitetsu ticket ran out it was abou $15 a day just to get to school, did this for 4 days :( you do the math. appart from that i have been carful with my money.
i should go now, more mail later, this family will probably let me use the computer once a week and when exams are over i will use it at school.
love you all, be happy.
Saturday, June 27, 2009
grandad thankyou for the photos.
not much to report on, been having holiday from school for the past week due to the flu. been studying and its driving my crazy. o.o
went for a walk yesterday for about 3 hours and it was nice.:)
going to change host family on sunday next week and i still dont know who they are.
3 months now and i still cant speak japanese. :( they lie. lol
gotta go soon, not much time here.
love you all.
Friday, June 19, 2009
遅い
hope you are all well,
sorry this post of late, its been a very busy week for me and my host sister and i was unable to get to computer-bu on monday and wednesday due to the fact that my host sister will have texts soon and thus wanted to go to the library. but i really dont blame her. tests here are seriously hard and requent. >.< class="blsp-spelling-corrected" id="SPELLING_ERROR_0">exempt from them.
finally started proper japanese classes now with kito sensei. she is kind and we have classes on tuseday and wednesday. she has got me writing diarys every day though today i havent even started. (shame. lol)
学校。
school is well and my classmates are as classmates are. varied with many diffrent personalitys and styles. i helped name our class shop for the school festival. "forest daydream" the word daydream is from the english textbook so everyone knows what it means.
finally tennis is over as pe. i wore dads sunnies today as the weather was bright and we had an exam on how well we had learned the same move to hit the ball that we went over for about 5 lessons, all in lines doing the same action. very japanese highschool. next week will be dance again i think. *giggle* last time was near a failure. but we try. my dance partners are the odd bunch, just like in aus. *giggle* but they are great. :) i also eat lunch with them.
again kateika(home economics) is nigh as tests are soonish.so neko ears have not progressed much if atall.
went to sadobu yesterday and i made green tea, which was not very tastey and ate munjyu,which was very tasty. a girl named saki made me green tea and it tasted so very well made. :) she is my friend now.
日本語
language is progressing slowly, i think i am now at the level of all the other students when they left for japan. which is good i think.though still a long way to go :( yes dad i am chatting to friends and such, and michelle, i am trying. i am always trying in japan.
家族
my family are good. my host father brough me miffy bentoboxes to give to people when i get home. they are very cute and i might use them for uni.*giggle*
please all of you be careful of the flu. i heard it running riot in aus and i was very worried.
love you all and do send mail to me sometime.
love from belinda
Monday, June 8, 2009
まだ
new host family are nice, they are relaxed like the family at home. they have faith in my japanese ability and i get a great feeling when my host sister tells people after introducing me"dont worry, shes great at japanese" this is in japanese of corse.
saturday was school, mayu(host sister) had a kanji test. she told me she fell asleep during it, reminds me of my test time. i spent most of the time she was in the test sneeping too. and reading evengelion, at book 8 now. in japanese.
went to an onsen yesterday, got naked infront of other women and didnt feel embarased untill i jumped into the freezing water bath and came out looking like a lobster. *giggle*
got scared my my brothers kendo instructer when upon meeting me he grabed my wrist and started to twist. i dont like fighting and i was not about to fight a kendo sensei. noone knows why he did it but my arm is fine and i resisted kicking him in the nads.
mum please forgive me for buying some souveneres on the weekend >.< spent about $40 aus. my family took me to a cute little japanese town and they had souvaneres that begged to be brought. but i am being careful now and buying less for lunch for the next few weeks. new train ticket for the 3rd host family cost alot...about $120 aus. :( also please appolagise, i still have not managed to send doug a birthday card :( been busy changing host familys.
still my japanese is relly not very good and i feel like i have not learnt anything atall since i came to japan. its makes me sad to think about how little i have learnt and i know i am will not make the 3 month mark as they say. i am also worried about the jlpt, jfie sent me practice sheets and i cant even complete the first one. i wish i has a sensei, some proper learning materials..something.. but its the same as always for me.
i;m glad grandad and mum got my cards and i hope i get replys soon. so far nothing since my last host family.
global camp, still havent heard from the people who organise that as to wether i got accepted or to wether they got my entry atall, i spent alotof time on it. havent heard from my counselor either and i wish she would contact me as i dont have her number. i know shes not psycic, but atleast check up on me in my new family like she did the last one.
school is well, sport is tennis and my classmates love it when i play the racquet guitar. english is interesting, i had to do a speach to the advanced classes today who will be psrtisipating in a speech contest. i hate speeches and even though it was in english i managed to stuff it up once. it was one of hilary clintons speeches about women. lessons in the library consist mostly of eva and word study. i get a little eng-japanese text from english but not much more than that.
bukatsu is slow but enjoyable i attend every day now thanks to my sisters kendo. :)
untill next post.
much love,
belinda
Monday, June 1, 2009
ぜんぜん
i officially named my previous host mother my japanese mother and she gave me tips on how not to look so shyish at the first meeting with the new host family along with a few other motherly things such as new soap and toothpaste. :)
new host family is nice. one daughter who goes to ohka(my school) a little boy who likes pokemon and yugioh, he gave me some of the pretty cards he dosnt use. my new host mother is a nice easy going person, as is my host sister. host father seems alright though i have not really spoken to him. they have two small birds and two gold fish.
my room is a tatami room, rather large and i have a futon which gets rolled up during the day. though it does appear to be the games room so i use it only when i sneep. i wake up at 5:40 now,even earlyer then before. and i get home at 7.
the area my house is in isnt in nagoya anymore, but its a nice area with many parks and reminds me strangly of north germany with its hills and little pockets of housing.
only one problem, .....the family hates fat people..and guess what i classify as in japan. :( my self image went through the floor at the first meeting. so damn self consious now :( my little brothers first word upon seeing me was "dekai" which translates to "huge" o.o sensei told me that i should lose alot of weight while i am with this family.:(
gotta go. another post on friday maybe sooner .
much love
Friday, May 29, 2009
すぎ
everything is well though, sad to be leaving current host family.
maybe after i can post.
new host family info(send me mail)
fujii family(belinda)
38-2 minami 2-chome kubo-ishiki
komaki city, aichi prefecture
485-0007
home phone = 0568-75-0713
Saturday, May 23, 2009
ようびん
which brings me to another topic, the flu (in"flu" enza).on the the trains i have been wearing my a mask, and when i get home i wash my hands(with disinfectant soap) and my nodo (throat, with stuff the colour of betadine,scary). its the flu, i have had similar before, the fact i have had it a few times means its always mutating.
exams are over so back to normal school on monday, today was a holiday (yay) and next weekend i change host familys (nooo). necko ears are still not made though i have more pairs now. might get into kateika(home ec) -bu.
home life is awesomly homely,went to hip-hop dance with my host sisters thisevening and that was interesting. i have a bandaid alergy(not related to the last sentance but i just thought i would add that) getting a little homesick and study is getting to me, jfie sent some more work books and i cant even do the first question. small problem there.
i think thats all for now, thankyou for all the people who sent me parcels, michelle,mummy. they are wonderful and i am enjoying them very much. tim tams are very yummy. been craving rocky horror and queen, so if anyone has them send them to either this address or the next familys address that i will aquire at the end of this week.
love belinda.